Newly Qualified Teachers (NQT)

Newly Qualified Teacher induction

In collaboration with colleagues from the county's teaching school alliances, Cumbria County Council aims to support schools in ensuring that NQT induction is a well-planned, targeted and structured programme, which is tailored to match individual need.  This will enable the newly qualified teacher's enthusiasm and commitment to be nurtured over the period of induction. 

Appropriate bodies for the induction of Newly Qualified Teachers

The Cumbrian Teaching School Alliances, listed below, offer high quality support through their work as appropriate bodies; while the Local Authority may also do so, this now tends to happen in only exceptional circumstances.

Schools in Cumbria are free to choose from any of the Appropriate Bodies detailed below. They will offer the same level of support.  As detailed in the NQT regulations (2013), Appropriate Bodies are allowed to levy a 'reasonable charge'. This will cover the cost of administration, forms, visits and registration with the National College for Teaching and Leadership.

In order to register your NQT, please contact the Appropriate Body of your choice. They will supply you with the appropriate forms and other documentation: 

Western Lakes Teaching Schools Alliance:
Lynne Brownrigg, Keswick School, Vicarage Hill, Keswick, CA12 5QB
017687 72605 

Burton Morewood CE Primary Academy Teaching School Alliance:
Emma Woodburn, Burton Morewood CE Primary Academy, Main Street, Burton in Kendal, Carnforth, LA6 1ND 
01524 781627 

West Coast Alliance:
Nick Hepburn-Fish, Hensingham Primary School, Main Street, Hensingham, Whitehaven, CA28 8QZ 
Telephone: 01946 690021 

South Lakes Federation:
Hayley Gray, Queen Elizabeth School, Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2HJ 
Telephone: 015242 71275  

Rural Learning Alliance: 
Christine Boucetla, RLA Support Officer, C/o Wreay CofE Primary School, Wreay, Carlisle, CA3 0RL 
Telephone: 07506663955   

Ellen Teaching School Alliance: 
Tina Beddoe, Maryport Infant School, Camp Road, Maryport, CA15 6JN  
Telephone: 01900 812074    

Yarlside Teaching School Alliance: 
Janine Pierce, Teaching School Director, Yarlside Academy, Redoak Avenue, Barrow in Furness, LA13 0LH 
Telephone: 01229 830934 

Teaching Better Together:
Michelle Henley, The Nelson Thomlinson School, Wigton, CA7 9PX
Telephone: 016973 42160

Department for Education Statutory Guidance

Appropriate bodies follow the statutory guidance supplied by Department for Education. The Teachers' Standards are used to assess a newly qualified teacher's performance at the end of their induction. The individual Teaching Schools may also issue NQTs with their own handbook, which summarises the statutory guidance and provides further information on their work as an appropriate body.   

DfE Statutory Guidance Document   

Teachers' Standards

Learning Improvement Service:  The general adviser with oversight of NQT induction within the Local Authority is Gerry Ball