The growth of railways in the nineteenth century had a great influence on town and countryside development. In 1947, under the Transport Act, the principal railways of Great Britain were nationalised. Railways have subsequently gone through the process of de­nationalisation. [locally held records of British Rail and its predecessors are not technically held as Public Records]

Links to online catalogues of:


Caledonian Railway (Brayton, Bromfield, Bowness-Brayton line)

Cleator and Workington Railway (Calva, Clearer, Harrington, Distington, Linefoot, Moor Row, Moresby, Moss Bay, Rowrah, Seaton, Siddick, Walkmill, Workington)

Cockermouth, Keswick and Penrith Railway (Bassenthwaite, Blencowe, Braithwaite, Briery, Cockermouth, Crosthwaite, Flusco, Great Broughton, Keswick, Penrith, Penruddock, Rakefoot, Redhills, Thornthwaite, Threlkeld, Troutbeck) 

Furness Railway (Askam, Barrow, Broughton, Cark-in-Cartmel, Coniston, Dalton, Foxfield, Grange-over-Sands, Greenodd, Haverthwaite, Kirkby-in-Furness, Lindal, Millom, Stainton (line), Torver, Ulverston)

Furness Railway (Barrow and Lakeside branch)

Furness Railway (Beckermet, Calder, Corkicle, Drigg, Egremont, Nethertown, Ravenglass, St Bees, Seascale, Sellafield, Sike Beck, Silecroft,  Whitehaven)

Furness Railway (Ambleside, Arnside, Bowness, Heversham, Hincaster, Levens, Meathop, Melling (Lancashire), Sandside, Silverdale (Lancashire), Windermere)

London and North Western Railway (Brigham, Camerton, Cockermouth, Flimby, Harrington, Lowca, Marron Junction, Maryport, Micklam, Parton, Whitehaven, Workington)

Maryport and Carlisle Railway (Aikbank, Arkleby, Aspatria, Baggrow, Bolton, Brayton, Brigham, Bullgill, Caldbeck, Carlisle, Crofton, Cummersdale, Curthwaite, Dalston, Dearham, Derwent, Dryfold, Higher Blaithwaite, Leegate, Maryport, Papcastle, Waver, Wigton)

Whitehaven, Cleator and Egremont Railway (Beckermet, Bigrigg, Birks Bridge, Cleator Moor, Egremont, Frizington, Gilgarran, Gutterby, Lamplugh, Marron, Moor Row, Pallaflat, Rowrah, Sellafield, Ullcoats, Whitehaven, Winder, Woodend, Yeathouse) 


Miscellaneous agreements made with landowners throughout Cumbria by Fumess Railway, LMS Railway and British Rail

Railways Assessment Authority