Water Boards


Prior to the creation of regional water authorities water was supplied by privately owned water companies and by water boards run by local authorities.

The Water Act 1973 reorganised water services in England and Wales, replacing river authorities, water undertakings, and sewerage and sewerage disposal authorities with newly created multi-purpose water authorities (the regional water authorities).  These were to be responsible for water supply, water conservation, sewerage and sewerage disposal, prevention of river pollution, fisheries, land drainage and the recreational use of their waters.

Links to online catalogues of holdings:


Barrow Gas and Water Company

Braithwaite Drainage Board

Burgh-by-sands, Beaumont and Orton Drainage Board

Eden Water Board

Furness Water Board see North West Water Authority

Holme St Cuthbert, Allonby and Westnewton Drainage Board

Kent Estuary Drainage Boards

Lakes and Lune Water Board

North Cumberland Water Board

South Cumberland Water Board

West Cumberland Water Board


North West Water Authority

North West Water Authority (including Furness Water Board)