Access Keys:

Skip main menu

The Copeland Area Support Team works with residents and community groups based in Copeland to deliver community engagement activities that help you speak up about the issues that matter to you. Our community engagement work can include a variety of activities from consulting the community about something the council is thinking about doing, to gaining information or support for a local community project or council initiative, or seeking public opinion over the design and delivery of local services.

We regularly hold community engagement activities and events across the district to respond to community issues or concerns and to enable communities to influence local decision making.

We work alongside the twelve County Councillors in Copeland which make up the Copeland Local Committee, the council's local decision making body which serves to improve local services and the quality of life for the residents of Copeland. We also manage a range of grant funds that are available to support community groups to develop and deliver locally based community projects and initiatives. For further information visit our grants and funding page. 

Contact us

Telephone: 01946 505020

Area Manager Copeland: 

Gillian Elliott
Tel: 07966 116941 
gillian.elliott@cumbria.gov.uk

Public Health Locality Manager: 

Georgina Ternent
Tel: 07825 340531
georgina.ternent@cumbria.gov.uk

Community Development Officers:  

Suzanne Cooper 
-
Howgate and Distington
- Mid Copeland
- West Copeland
- Whitehaven
Tel: 01946 505023 
Mob: 07760 550539 
suzanne.cooper@cumbria.gov.uk

Maria Hewitt 
- North East Copeland 
- South Copeland  
- Whitehaven
Tel: 01946 505019 
Mob: 07760 550529
Maria.Hewitt@cumbria.gov.uk

Community Development Assistants: 

Jill Hocking
Tel: 01946 505020 
jill.hocking@cumbria.gov.uk

Nicky Long
Tel: 01946 506409 
nicky.long@cumbria.gov.uk

Liz Nichol 
Tel: 01946 506399 
liz.nichol@cumbria.gov.uk


Copeland Area Support
Cleator Moor Library
The Square
Cleator Moor
Cumbria
CA25 5AP
email: copelandteam@cumbria.gov.uk