Access Keys:

How do you rate this information / service?

green smiley (good) orange smiley (average) red smiley (poor)
Parish Survey Programme


Rights of Way management

Skip main menu

Cumbria County Council is the Highway Authority for the whole county.  This includes a duty towards all public rights of way.  

However, some of this work is done in partnership with other bodies.  This is outlined below.   

  • The Lake District National Park Authority cover the Lake District National Park area, except urban rights of way in Ambleside, Keswick and Windermere / Bowness which are managed by Cumbria County Council.  
  • The Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority cover rights of way in the three parishes (Dent, Sedbergh, Garsdale) of the Yorkshire Dales National Park area in Cumbria.