

NOTICE OF ELECTION

County of Cumbria

Election of County Councillors

- 1. Elections are to be held for ONE County Councillor for each of the Electoral Divisions listed in column 2 of the schedule below.
- 2. Nomination papers must be delivered to the office of the relevant Deputy Returning Officer shown in column 3 of the schedule below on any date after the date of this Notice between the hours of 10am and 4pm Monday to Friday but not later than 4pm on Tuesday 4 April 2017.
- 3. The latest date for delivery of notices of withdrawal of candidature is no later than 4pm on Tuesday 4 April 2017 to the office of the relevant Deputy Returning Officer shown in column 3 of the schedule below.
- 4. Nomination papers may be obtained between 10am and 4pm Monday to Friday from the office of the relevant Deputy Returning Officer shown in column 3 of the schedule below who, at the request of any elector for an Electoral Division, will prepare a nomination paper for signature.
- 5. If an election is contested the poll will take place on Thursday 4 May 2017.
- 6. Electors should take note that the following applications must reach the Electoral Registration Officer at the address stated below by the deadline if they are to be effective for this election:
 - 6.1 new applications to register by **Thursday 13 April 2017**.
 - 6.2 new applications to vote by post or to change existing postal or proxy arrangements by **5pm** on **Tuesday 18 April 2017**.
 - 6.3 new applications to vote by proxy by **5pm** on **Tuesday 25 April 2017**.
- 7. Emergency proxy votes at the election will be available for anyone who:
 - becomes ill or disabled after the deadline for proxy applications; or
 - becomes aware after the deadline that they will be unable to go to the poll on the day of election for occupational, employment or service reasons.

Such applications, which must be attested, must reach the Electoral Registration Officer by **5pm** on **Thursday 4 May 2017**.

Electoral Registration Officer	Address	Telephone and email contact	
Allerdale	Allerdale House, Workington CA14 3YJ	01900 702550 electoralservices@allerdale.gov.uk	
Barrow-in-Furness	Town Hall, Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 2LD	01229 876318 elecreg@barrowbc.gov.uk	
Carlisle	Civic Centre, Carlisle CA3 8QG	01228 817200 elections@carlisle.gov.uk	
Copeland	The Copeland Centre, Catherine Street, Whitehaven CA28 7SJ	01946 598535 elections@copeland.gov.uk	
Eden	Town Hall, Penrith CA11 7QF	01768 212253/212122 elections@eden.gov.uk	
South Lakeland	South Lakeland House, Lowther Street, Kendal LA9 4UQ	01539 793197 elections@southlakeland.gov.uk	



SCHEDULE TO NOTICE OF ELECTION

District/ Borough	Electoral Divisions			Name and address of Deputy Returning Officer
1		2		3
ALLERDALE	Aspatria Bothel and Wharrels Cockermouth North Cockermouth South	Dearham and Broughton Harrington Keswick Maryport North Maryport South Moss Bay and Moorclose	Seaton St John's and Great Clifton St Michael's Solway Coast Thursby Wigton	Andrew Seekings, Deputy Returning Officer Allerdale House, Workington, Cumbria CA14 3YJ 01900 702550 electoralservices@allerdale.gov.uk
BARROW-IN- FURNESS	Dalton North Dalton South Hawcoat Hindpool	Newbarns and Parkside Old Barrow Ormsgill Risedale	Roosecote Walney North Walney South	Jon Huck, Deputy Returning Officer Town Hall, Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria LA14 2LD 01229 876318 elecreg@barrowbc.gov.uk
CARLISLE	Belah Belle Vue Botcherby Brampton Castle Corby and Hayton Currock	Dalston and Burgh Denton Holme Harraby North Harraby South Houghton and Irthington	Longtown Morton Stanwix Urban Upperby Wetheral Yewdale	Dr Jason Gooding, Deputy Returning Officer Civic Centre, Carlisle CA3 8QG 01228 817200 elections@carlisle.gov.uk
COPELAND	Bransty Cleator Moor East and Frizington Cleator Moor West Egremont	Egremont North and St Bees Gosforth Hillcrest and Hensingham Howgate	Kells and Sandwith Millom Millom Without Mirehouse	Pat Graham, Deputy Returning Officer The Copeland Centre, Catherine Street, Whitehaven, Cumbria CA28 7SJ 01946 598535 elections@copeland.gov.uk
EDEN	Alston and East Fellside Appleby Eden Lakes	Greystoke and Hesket Kirkby Stephen Penrith East	Penrith North Penrith Rural Penrith West	Matthew Neal, Deputy Returning Officer Town Hall, Penrith, Cumbria CA11 7QF 01768 212253/212122 elections@eden.gov.uk
SOUTH LAKELAND	Cartmel Grange High Furness Kendal Castle Kendal Highgate Kendal Nether Kendal South	Kendal Strickland and Fell Kent Estuary Lakes Low Furness Lower Kentdale Lyth Valley	Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale Ulverston East Ulverston West Upper Kent Windermere	Debbie Storr, Deputy Returning Officer South Lakeland House, Lowther Street, Kendal, Cumbria LA9 4UQ 01539 793197 elections@southlakeland.gov.uk

elections@cumbria.gov.uk

www.cumbria.gov.uk